Exhibition Information

  • Artist: Jenny Cho
  • Exhibition: Inprocess
  • Media: Drawing and Painting
  • Gallery:  CSULB School of Art, Marilyn Werby Gallery
  • Website: NA
  • Instagram: @cxthxdx_gxrl

About the Artist

CSULB undergraduate Jenny Cho is working toward her BFA degree in the School of Art’s Drawing and Painting Program. Jenny is a Korean born American, and even though she does not strongly feel her culture, this exhibit encouraged her to further touch upon it in her pieces.

Content Analysis

The exhibit in its entirety is about the art process, hence the name Inprocess, focusing on the art creating experiences rather than the end result. Jenny’s pieces reflect that very well, and go even further by touching topics like feminism/gender identity, her South Korean culture, nature and technology.  The two pictures I added show these topics very well. The left piece is extremely feminine, indicated the by the flowers and color of choice: red, white, pink. They even show her Asian culture, they hint at the very popularly known cherry blossom flowers. The piece to the right is my favorite mostly because I had a completely different interpretation than the artist. I thought it was a brain with technological wires sticking out to comment on how the creativity in humans can be re-wired or even replaced with a robotic way of thinking. After speaking with her I learned that it was actually a slab of her bust but I was correct about the wires. She wanted to make a comment on the relation of nature and technology and after having her explain it to me I was able to see it more clearly.

Formal Analysis

Jenny’s pieces were incredibly feminine containing flowers and girly colors. There was even a piece with just lip kisses and apparently from a certain angle you  could see her face. She had used a variety of materials in all her pieces, giving them their own personalities and dimensions. The pieces were so out there it seemed they were just asking to be touched which was actually one of Jenny’s goals.

Synthesis/ My Experience

I really enjoyed all her pieces, they touched upon topics that actually resonated to me. This is mainly due to the obvious fact that I am a girl. Her feminine pieces were attractive to me. I usually do not like talking about political views but hers were subtle and broad that I was able to enjoy it. I appreciated the ties she made to nature, I already felt that nature had attractive features and I liked the way she incorporated them into her pieces and was even able to comment on the relationship nature has with technology.

20170215_131330 20170215_131322

Leave a Reply

